Skip to content

modifiedmom.com

the adventures of a MAD mom

modified atkins diet for seizures, MAD, ketogenic diet, modifiedmom

Casey and his "pretty good chocolate cake"

A sigh of relief – our MAD-In-Solidarity adventure is over.  The past few days have been more difficult than the first.  I was hungry all the time, most especially in the late evenings.  On Friday I even went so far as to slip a slice of toast in the toaster because I was so hungry I felt nauseous and protein/fat was not what I needed.  I thought to myself, “I’ll just tell Casey in the morning that I felt sick and had to have it”.  Then, “Are you are kidding.  You can’t just do this for one week?  While he is pushing 7 months without once ever cheating?”  So, I pulled the toast out, tossed back a glass of water and called it a night, hanging my head in shame as I walked back to bed. This morning, to celebrate, we ate a bowl of oatmeal with brown sugar.  Oatmeal has never tasted so good.  Even as I write it, I see how silly it sounds, but I really like carbs, really.

I think there is so much more that we could not understand about the diet in just one week, but on the other hand we could not have had as great an understanding without actually having participated in it.  I think my body would have gotten used to this new way of eating, given a much longer time period.  I also think that if it had changed my life – from having seizures all day, feeling sleepy and too tired to participate in life – to having a mostly regular existence, I might better understand how Casey has such incredible willpower.  I was able to make it through the week because the end was so close in sight.  But for Casey, we have no idea how long the journey will last so it is hard to know just how he keeps going.

Today is Casey’s 12th Birthday.  He is hanging out with his friends, ice skating and having a great time. He looks like any other kids out there on the rink, and I am guessing that is where his willpower comes from.  The understanding that instead of being in bed at 4pm, he is out there enjoying life.  And I am thankful for the MAD, no matter how difficult it is.

