Skip to content

modifiedmom.com

the adventures of a MAD mom

Modified Atkins Diet for Seizures MAD

The scent of pork rinds and coconut oil has permeated my being – or is that just my imagination?  No matter what I do, I can’t seem to rid myself of the combination of scents that keeps me on the verge of gagging.  Some mornings, when I am frying up whatever breakfast treat prepared with a pork rind base, it is all I can do to stand in the vicinity to make sure nothing burns.  My older son comes in almost every morning with the “what’s that awful smell” greeting I now have come to expect.  If I should have been able to ignore the smell for whatever reason, he makes sure to slap my senses back into order.

Then, in my coconut-pork perfumed state, the shopping rounds begin.  Not a day goes by where I don’t find myself visiting at least one market for something on my shopping list.  It used to be that between a weekly visit to Trader Joe’s or two, and a Farmers Market run on Sunday, we were pretty much set.  Since starting the Modified Atkins Diet for Seizures, there is Sprouts Market for the Virgil’s Diet Root Beer, the Coconut Oil and all things Walden Farms.  Next, there is Whole Foods for the Domingo’s Pork Rinds and their no nitrate German Sausage.  Rainbow Acres has a plethora of bin foods, specialty flours and nuts.  There is still Trader Joe’s for the rest of the family, and Casey’s beloved chicken breakfast sausages (3 links for .25 carbs!).  If I don’t get there before 11am, they are sold out – something I will never understand given they sell out almost every day.  (hey, if you are listening Trader Joe’s, can you stock enough for the whole day?)  They also have a large variety of cheeses – each of which Casey has scoured for the lowest carb count.  Then, every Sunday we walk to the local farmers market to buy rasberries, strawberries and eggs.  Lots and lots of eggs.  Thank goodness the Korean market run is now only monthly since we are making 15 lbs of bacon at a time.

The virtual shopping experience begins after the kids are in bed.  There does not seem to be a comprehensive website carrying MAD items that I can’t source locally, so I find myself at midnight madly scouring the internet for the best deal on pure vanilla, carbalose, stevia, carb free vitamin supplements and the list goes on.  Many nights, I find myself diverted by a sidebar advertisement and suddenly searching for a good book, or a rug for the living room.  Amazon is especially dangerous for me this way  – too many distractions.

Needless to say, all this additional shopping is pretty hard on the wallet.  There just seems to be no way around that part of the MAD diet.  If you want any variety, it means more stores, and more stores means more shopping, and more shopping means more dollars.  To be fair, there are many things I no longer purchase that were previously on my weekly list, so I guess it should all work out in the wash.

The real fun is taking Casey with me to shop.  He has become quite skilled at label reading and finding things I would never have discovered were he not accompanying me.  He loves running through  the store, returning with someting new and MAD friendly.  Now, if only he could find a bar of soap that would kill this scent!

