Skip to content

modifiedmom.com

the adventures of a MAD mom

Modified Atkins Diet for Epilepsy MAD information

The search for MAD Information

It was after a year and a half of going on and off meds (that not only did not work, but in some cases made the seizures worse, not to mention the horrible side effects) that we began to discuss the benefits of trying the Modified Atkins Diet (MAD).  Our doctor thought Casey would be a good candidate.  I started to read up on it on the internet, the library, the book store.  I tried to imagine what it would be like to be chained to the house for 3 meals a day weighing, measuring and documenting everything that went into Casey’s mouth.  My husband and I stayed up at night talking about it, woke in the morning talking about it. 

But Casey was the one who made the final decision.  He was tired of having seizures all day and night, especially at school in front of his classmates, or while on the hockey rink.  He was willing to give it a try.  And if he was willing to take this on, an 11 year old boy, then by gosh I was willing to do my part too.  After all, his part of the deal was much more difficult than mine.  For at least a year or two, he would be unable to eat any sugar and very few carbohydrates. 

In early December 2010, my husband and I and both our boys met with the nutritionist, the dietitian and the doctor so we could all understand what we were in for.  Two hours later, we walked out armed with lots of information, a few recipes and a food list of “do’s and don’ts.  For 3 weeks I researched recipes, scrutinized food labels, and made a master shopping list on excel (oh, did I mention I am an A-Type personality?).  On January 1st, 2011 we were as ready as we could be to begin the MAD-ness.

